Funke Akindele, Nancy Isime, Olumide Akinmolayan nominated for AMVCA 2022.

Just as expected by most movie fans across the continent, The popular movie awards AMVCA announced the nominees for the 8th edition of the award show via a live stream on Saturday with Adesua Etomi-Wellington and Daniel Etim Effiong interfacing with the audience. And because we felt you just might still be under the rocks regarding this news, we thought to keep you in the loop.

So, In what is a customary long list of prospective awardees, among the entries that made the nominees list are the on-screen performances, directorial turns, choices, set designs, song selections, and styling executions that seized the filmmaking community’s attention for the season.


However, this year’s nominees are of 33 categories, including the newly introduced ‘Best Online Social Content Creator’ which had the likes of Mr Macaroni, Oga Sabinus, Jacqueline Suowari, Eden Victor and a couple others in the category. Other categories of note include;

Best Supporting Actor (Movie or TV Series)

Bucci Franklin (Rattlesnake: The Ayanna Story)

Adjetey Anang (Gold Coast Lounge)

Odunlade Adekola (Jankariwo)

Eric Roberts (A Soldier’s Story)

Amina (Magaji Mijinyawa)

Yemi Blaq (The New Normal)

Tope Tedela (Country Hard)

Best Supporting Actress

Bisola Aiyeola (Sugar Rush)

Mercy Johnson Okojie (The New Normal)

Clarion Chukwurah (Amina)

Mumbi Maina (La Femme Anjola)

Enado Odigie (The New Normal)

Omowunmi Dada (Country Hard)

Chioma Chukwuka Akpotha (Omo Ghetto: The Saga)

Best Cinematographer

Muhammed Attah Ahmed (Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story)

James Amuta (Collision Course)

Peter Kreil, Wale Adebayo, Samuel Jonathan, Moruf Fadaro (Amina)

Samuel Jonathan, Moruf Fadaro (The Mystic River)

John Njaga Demps (Nneka The Pretty Serpent)

Victoria Mbogo (Just in Time)

Best Actor in a Comedy

Shawn Faqua (Soole)

Deyemi Okanlawon (Omo Ghetto: The Saga)

Gideon Okeke (Loving Rona)

Samuel Perry ‘Broda Shaggi’ (Dwindle)

Femi Adebayo (Progressive Tailor’s Club)

Williams Uchemba (Dear Affy)

Timini Egbuson (Ponzi)

Best Actor in a Drama

Stan Nze (Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story)

Uzee Usman (Voiceless)

Gabriel Afolayan (For Maria Ebun Pataki)

Efa Iwara (This Lady Called Life)

Femi Jacobs (Introducing the Kujus)

Enyinna Nwigwe (Dear Affy)

Timini Egbuson (Introducing the Kujus)

Best Actress in a Drama

Asabe Madaki (Voiceless)

Osas Ighodaro (Rattlesnake)

Meg Otanwa (For Maria Ebun Pataki)

Bisola Aiyeola (This Lady Called Life)

Nancy Isime (Superstar)

Genoveva Umeh (A Tune Away)

Kehinde Bankole (Dear Affy)

Best Writer Nominees

Tunde Babalola (La Femme Anjola)

Toluwani Obayan, Kayode Kasum (This Lady Called Life)

Tunray Femi, Damilola E. Orimogunje (For Maria Ebun Pataki)

Chigozirim Nwanegbo (One Lagos Night) Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia, Biodun Stephen (Introducing the Kujus)

Frank Chinedu Uba (Amina)

Abosi Ogba, Sally Kenneth Dadzie, Lydia Idakula Sobogun, Olawale Adetula, Belinda Yanga Agedah (Little Black Book)

Best Documentary

Taiwo Adeyemi (Road2Blow)

Femi Odugbemi (Unmasked: Leadership, Trust and the COVID19 Pandemic in Nigeria)

Eugene Mbugua ;This Love)

Allen Onyige (Sunset in Makoko)

Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku Elena Schilling, Daniela Fritz, Ann Katrina Boberg (If Objects Could Speak)

Lawrence Adejumo (Streets of Lagos: Dear Little People)

Best Indigenous Language – Swahili

Obambo (Freddy Feruzi)

Jaramandia (Dennis Humphrey, Bernard Kahindi)

Rishai (Omar Hamza Hassan)

Best Indigenous Language – Yoruba

Jankariwo – Bukunmi Oluwasina

Alaise – David Akande, Demola Yusuf, Edgard Leroy

Abeke – Samuel Oniyitan

Balokun – Olamide Akinmolayan

Ijolewa – Olapeji Wahab

Arodan – Wunmi Ajiboye

Well, as presumed, the list is quite a voluminous one but we just thought to keep you abreast of some of the topmost categories in this year’s award. We do hope you find what you’re looking for.


Read Previous

Bianca vs Ebele squabble: A slap a day keeps see finish away.

Read Next

Movie Review: The Adam Project

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *